Posted in Songs

Koi dost hai na raqeeb hai…

 

Today I heard the old Jagjit Singh song “Koi dost” after a long time. And needless to say, I can’t get over it. What beautiful lyrics! Some random sources on internet tell me that it’s written by Sudarshan Fakir. Assuming that they are right, I have just found a new topic to research and read on net… Sudarshan Fakir and his ghazals. Apparently, he has also written “Woh kagaaz ki kashti“. I am already his fan now. I can’t believe I didn’t know this earlier.

Here are the complete lyrics:

koi dost hai na raqeeb hai… tera shehar kitna ajeeb hai

woh jo ishq tha woh junoon tha… yeh jo hijr hai yeh naseeb hai

yahan kiska chehra padha karoon… yahan kaun itna kareeb hai

main kise kahoon mere saath chal… yahan sab ke sar pe saleeb hai

Translation of some selected difficult words:

Raqeeb: enemy/foe; Hijr: Separation; Saleeb: cross (as in burden)

One thought on “Koi dost hai na raqeeb hai…

Leave a Reply

